Kellen Pacheco

Anticipated Graduation Year: 2012

Major: Art, Three-Dimensional Track

Hometown: Pukalani, Hawaii

Whitworth activities/clubs: Men’s varsity swimming, Hawaiian Club officer

Favorite music: Reggae – Ooklah the Moc, Tribal Seeds, Rebelution, The Dirty Heads

Favorite food: Hot dogs

Favorite guilty pleasure: Strawberry and banana smoothies

Favorite thing about Whitworth: It’s not too big, not too small, but just right.

Favorite professor: Katie Creyts because she’s crazy, fun, and personable. Katie has a way of making things fun and ridiculous. As my advisor and teacher, she constantly gives me honest feedback and suggestions that help me grow as a student.

I like my major because… it’s awesome! I get to explore different materials, ideas, and design problems in a hands-on studio environment. If I have an idea, I construct it. If I need advice, my professors are happy to give it. It’s a major where I am free to be creative and the professors are extremely personable and fun. The art department is not your ordinary classroom lecture major on campus; we’ve got music blasting, wheels spinning, and a whole lot of creating going on in here.

My best Whitworth moment or experience: For the past three years, I’ve been able to help plan and perform at the luau the Hawaiian Club puts on each year. The week leading up to the luau every year is filled with 9-12 p.m. rehearsals, last-minute preparations and set-up, and countless hours in the kitchen preparing/cooking the food. It’s definitely a stressful process, but it’s all worth it when your friends and the community come out to enjoy the food and entertainment. It’s definitely a fun experience and the biggest club event on campus with 40+ participants and around 700 ticket sales.

Advice for incoming students: Make friends and connections because you’ll never know who will hit it big one day or when they may come in handy. Oh, and pray for a nice winter (do it for me at least – thanks).

What I plan to do after graduation: After graduation, the plan will be to go home for a few weeks to spend some time with my family and friends, hit up all the local food spots, and then start my Master of Architecture program wherever it is I get accepted to that summer.